Adjunct Faculty

It is in Schoodic Institute’s mission to work through innovative partnership programs.  The Institute attracts and partners with a diverse range of researchers and educators.

In order to honor those individuals that are not employed by Schoodic Institute or Acadia National Park but have a substantial role as researchers and educators in our partnerships, and to encourage and strengthen such partnerships, Schoodic Institute designates selected individuals as Adjunct Faculty.

Schoodic Institute is pleased to announce the following Adjunct Faculty in 2015:

Dr. Frederick Bianchi

Professor of Music/Humanities and the Arts

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

CV  /  Website

Dr. John Cigliano

Professor of Biology and Director of Environmental Conservation

Department of Biological Sciences

Cedar Crest College

CV / Website

Dr. Jane Disney

Senior Staff Scientist and Director, Community Environmental Health Laboratory

Mount Desert Island Biological Laboratory

CV / Website

Dr. Richard Feldman

Investigador Titular C, Unidad de Recursos Naturales

Centro de Investigación Científica de Yucatán

Department of Environmental Conservation, University of Massachusetts Amherst

CV / Website

Dr. Karen James

Staff Scientist

Mount Desert Island Biological Laboratory

CV / Website

Dr. Sarah Nelson

Associate Research Professor in Watershed Biogeochemistry

University of Maine, School of Forest Resources

Sen. George J. Mitchell Center for Sustainability Solutions

Program in Ecology and Environmental Sciences

Maine RiSE Center (Research in STEM Education)

CV / Website

Dr. Brian Olsen

Assistant Professor, School of Biology and Ecology

University of Maine

CV / Website


Adjunct Faculty candidates are evaluated by the Schoodic Institute at Acadia National Park Adjunct Faculty Review Committee.  Partners interested in being considered for adjunct faculty status may contact Mark Berry at any time.

Chair: Dr. Mark Kryder, Board of Directors

Dr. Jim Andrews, Board of Directors

Dr. Kathleen Nauss, Board of Directors

Dr. Dan Poteet, Board of Directors

Dr. Abe Miller-Rushing, Science Coordinator, Acadia National Park

Mark Berry, President, Schoodic Institute at Acadia National Park

Dr. Mike Soukup, Science Director, Schoodic Institute at Acadia National Park