Schoodic Scholars

In 2013 Schoodic Institute welcomed its first group of “Schoodic Scholars”.  The Schoodic Scholars program was a place-based initiative to build a community of naturalists and nature-inspired educators and artists whose foundation is built upon science and a culture of learning.  Scholars were nominated because of their achievement, and expertise in their field as well as their proven interest, commitment, creativity, and passion for the natural world and the Schoodic region.

Schoodic Scholars were supported with modest stipends and lodging to facilitate their work at Schoodic Institute in 2013 and 2014.  This program was made possible through philanthropic support of Schoodic Institute.

Some Schoodic Scholars have already led workshops and given public presentations about their work at Schoodic Institute, while others may do so in the near future.  All are contributing to building a community of educators, naturalists, artists, and scientists at Schoodic Institute and throughout the region.

Schoodic Institute is not currently dedicating funding to the Schoodic Scholars program; we are currently focusing on other strategies for building our research and education community (See “What We Offer” as a good starting point to learn more).  we are grateful for the opportunity to have worked with each of the following.

The initial Schoodic Scholars are:

Chris Bartlett, Eastport

Obie Buel, Gouldsboro

Jordan Chalfant, Bar Harbor

Cloe Chunn, Swanville

Alison Dibble, Blue Hill

Bob Duchesne, Old Town

Vera Francis, Perry

Ed Hawkes, Mount Desert Island

Richard Hildreth, Steuben

Zack Klyver, Hancock

Adrienne Leppold, Orono

Kristen Lindquist, Camden

Rich MacDonald, Bar Harbor

Pamelia Markwood, Trenton

Glen Mittlehauser, Gouldsboro

William Nichols, Stockton Springs

Bill Townsend, Bar Harbor

Jill Weber, Bar Harbor

Chuck Whitney, Ellsworth